Select Page
Welcome to Psychological & Counselling Services Group

About Us

Psychotherapy Training Institute

Mental health practitioners are challenged every day to incorporate the most recent and relevant research into their practices.

We offer short courses and workshops to help you to update your skills and knowledge, and learn from the most experienced clinicians.

Course and Workshop topics include:

  • Couple and family therapy
  • Safe and effective use of self
  • Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
  • Mindfulness Practice
  • Assessment and Treatment of Suicidal Behavior
  • Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT)
  • Sex Therapy

Mission

Our mission is to provide quality, up to the minute, research-based education and training specifically tailored to the learning needs of professionals in the health, human services, education, and criminal justice sectors who possess undergraduate degrees.

Vision

We recognize that those who see their careers as a calling are personally and professionally motivated to upgrade and broaden their knowledge and skills and to specialize in certain areas in order to be helpful to those they serve. Our intent is to incorporate the latest research into specific areas of practice through the use of well respected, highly accredited and experienced instructors whose insight and expertise inform their teaching styles.

Creating a cross-sectoral community of practice in York and Durham regions is part of our vision.

Core Values

We believe in people’s ability to effect positive change in their lives, and in the capacity of health, human services, education, and criminal justice professionals to assist them in this process.

By incorporating the latest research, innovative teaching approaches, and opportunities for professionals to network, share their own expertise and experiences, and provide support and encouragement to one another across sectors, we can have a positive impact on the quality of services delivered to clients.

Clinical Training

We offer education in the most effective, research-based clinical modalities for complex mental health challenges. These include Dialectical Behavior Training (DBT), Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Mindfulness practices, and a range of interventions to assist couples and families.

Dialectical Behaviour Therapy: Part 1

Presented by: Dr. Lisa Burckell, Ph.D., C.Psych. Friday March 5, 2021 (9am – 5pm)Saturday March 6, 2021 (9am – 5pm) Learn more

Mindfulness: The Knowing and Doing in Clinical Practice

Presented by: Dr. Ken Kwan, Ph.D., CCFT, C.Psych. Friday February 19, 2021 (9am – 5pm)Saturday February 20, 2021 (9am – 5pm) Learn more

Dialectical Behaviour Therapy: Part 2

Presented by: Dr. Lisa Burckell, Ph.D., C.Psych. Friday April 23, 2021 (9am – 5pm)Saturday April 24, 2021 (9am – 5pm) Learn more

Dialectical Behaviour Therapy – Skills Training

Presented by: Dr. Krystle Martin, Ph.D., C.Psych. Friday April 30, 2021 (9am - 5pm)Saturday May 1, 2021 (9am - 5pm) Learn more

Dialectical Behaviour Therapy – Eating Disorder

Presented by: Dr. Anita Federici, Ph.D., C.Psych. Friday March 26, 2021 (9am – 5pm)Saturday March 27, 2021 (9am – 5pm) Learn more

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy: 4-Day Workshop

Presented by: Dr. Karen Roberts, Ph.D., C.Psych. Saturday April 10, 2021 ( 9 am - 5 pm)Sunday April 11, 2021 ( 9 am - 5 pm)Saturday April 17, 2021 ( 9 am - 5 pm)Sunday April 18, 2021 ( 9 am - 5 pm) Learn more

Safe and Effective Use of Self

Presented by: Dr. Ken Kwan, Ph.D., CCFT, C.Psych. Friday May 7, 2021 (9 am - 5 pm)Saturday May 8, 2021 (9 am - 5 pm)Friday May 14, 2021 (9am - 5 pm)Saturday May 15, 2021 (9am - 5pm) Learn more

Essentials of Couple Therapy

Presented by: Dr. Ken Kwan, Ph.D., CCFT, C.Psych. Friday June 4, 2021 (9 am - 5 pm)Saturday June 5, 2021 (9 am - 5 pm) Learn more

Evaluation & Treatment of Suicidal Behaviours

Presented by: Dr. Ken Kwan, Ph.D., CCFT, C.Psych. Friday February 26, 2021 (9 am -5 pm)Saturday February 27, 2021 (9 am -5 pm) Learn more

Sex Therapy: 4-day

Presented by: Dr. Ken Kwan, Ph.D., CCFT, C.Psych. Fall 2021 - Date to be announced Learn more

Trauma, Related Mental Health Conditions, & Trauma-Informed Interventions

Presented by: Dr. Krystle Martin, Ph.D., C.Psych. Friday May 28, 2021 (9 am - 5 pm) Saturday May 29, 2021 (9 am - 5 pm) Learn more

Dialectical Behaviour Therapy – Eating Disorder – Advance

Presented by: Dr. Anita Federici, Ph.D., C.Psych. Friday June 11, 2021 (9am – 5pm)Saturday June 12, 2021 (9am – 5pm) Learn more
View More Courses >

Contact Us